2008 SEED Awards for Entrepreneurship in Sustainable Development

The SEED Initiative is currently accepting applications from individuals with innovative or entrepreneurial ideas in the realm of sustainable development, specifically in the context of developing countries. The deadline for submission is March 16, 2008. Click here for more details regarding the application process. A brief description of the award follows from OneWorld South Asia:

The SEED awards is an annual international competition, designed to support locally-led, innovative, entrepreneurial partnerships in developing countries, which have the potential to make real improvements in poverty eradication and environmental sustainability. The SEED Initiative assists young and promising endeavours in strengthening and scaling up the impact of their activities. The winners receive a tailored package of support services, worth US $25,000, including access to relevant expertise and technical assistance, developing business plans and identifying sources of finance. Fifteen finalists will be chosen from developing countries in each of the four UN regional groups: Latin America and the Caribbean, Africa, Eastern Europe and Asia. There will be three finalists from each region except Asia, from which six finalists will be selected. Out of these 15 finalists, five winners will be announced in June 2008.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: