The Tech Museum Awards – March 24 Deadline

The deadline for The Tech Museum Awards is on Monday, March 24. Do you know of any worthy candidates from India?

The Tech Museum Awards is an international Awards program that honors innovators from around the world who are applying technology to benefit humanity.

For example, D.R. Mehta was a 2007 Laureate who created an NGO in India to work with low-income disabled communities. His organization created “the Jaipur Foot,” a prosthetic limb which is now “being distributed for free to millions of people below the poverty line in sixteen countries, allowing them to join the ranks of the mobile and become productive citizens,” according to the Social Innovation Conversations website.

D.R. Mehta won the Equality Award, but there are other categories as well:

Awards are presented in five categories: Health, Education, Environment, Economic Development, and Equality. Five Laureates in each category are honored and one Laureate per category receives $50,000.

The criteria for nominations can be found here.

3 Responses

  1. […] MIT meets cutting-edge grassroots technology Posted on March 19, 2008 by Santhosh D R Mehta is a remarkable Indian social entrepreneur. He is the founder of the Jaipur Foot Organization (JFO) or the(BMVSS), an organization which has developed the most functional limb technology in the world, and made a constantly made an effort to make it available at a low-cost. According to a study done by researchers at University of Michigan, a prosthetic leg in the US costs about US$ 8,000, while the jaipur foot costs about US$ 30. We had earlier written in this space about BMVSS winning the Tech Museum awards. […]

  2. […] the James C. Morgan Global Humanitarian Award.  The award will be bestowed upon Yunus at the Tech Museum of Innovation award ceremony in November (by the way, the nomination deadline for the Tech Museum award has been […]

  3. […] Winners Starting Small, Scaling Up Posted on November 13, 2008 by Shital Remember the Tech Museum Awards? The award “honors innovators from around the world who are applying technology to benefit […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: